Doctoral College

Loughborough Postgraduate Awards

On the 24th June, George Hones, LSU’s first ever Postgraduate Executive Officer, hosted LSU’s first ever Loughborough Postgraduate Awards! The evening provided a night of reflection and celebration of the outstanding achievements of the postgraduate community and the staff that have supported them over the last year.

In total 14 awards were up for grabs and it was great to hear that so many of our Doctoral Researchers had not only been nominated but also shortlisted!

Whilst we don’t have the space in this blog post to mention all those nominated for an award (there were loads!), we wanted to give a special mention to those who were shortlisted and those who won on the night – a huge well done to all!

PhD Teaching Award

  • Winner – Louisa Ejim
  • Shortlisted – Jenna Townend, Laurence Coles, Oliver Hooper

Subwarden of the Year

  • Winner – Emma Blundell
  • Highly Commended – Romanda Dillon
  • Shortlisted – Edward Cerny, CJ Marlas

Postgraduate Representative of the Year

  • Winner – Mohammad Daniyall Khan
  • Shortlisted – Lauren Estwick, Carl Robinson, Jacky Mueller, Greg Usher, Misha Gabre

Postgraduate Event of the Year

  • Winner – Think and Drink (London Rep Team)
  • Highly Commended – LiQuiD Lab
  • Shortlisted – John Phillips Welfare & Diversity Week

Contribution to Student Development

  • Winner – Donna Palmer
  • Shortlisted – Ellie Read, Marie Hanlon, David Fletcher, Simona Rasciute, Rachel Sandford

Unsung Hero

  • Winner – Jenny Evans
  • Shortlisted – Tracy Preston, Aly Howells-Chivers

Postgraduate Team of the Year

  • Winner – LiQUiD Lab Committee
  • Highly Commended – London Rep Team
  • Shortlisted – John Phillips Committee, Centre for Service Management Team, Greg Ushers & Misha Gabre

Postgraduate Volunteer of the Year

  • Winner – James Brady
  • Highly Commended – Jaw Wook Park
  • Shortlisted – Amina Hamoud, Jack Needham, Jonny Flowers, cheng Gu, Leanna Kightley, Gareth Tedds

Supervisory Team of the Year

  • Winner – Julie Fisher & Brian Reed
  • Shortlisted – Lorraine Cale & jo Harris

Outstanding Delivery

  • Winner – Val Mitchell
  • Highly Commended – Louise Cooke
  • Shortlisted – Phillip Grunewald, Simona Rasciute

The John Phillips Contribution to Community Award

Contribution to Knowledge

  • Winner – Oliver Hooper
  • Shortlisted – Jenna Townend, Gaby Wolferink, Terri Graham

The Immediate Impact Award

  • Winner – Sumai Bertrand

The Bryn Pike Award

  • Winner – Ellie Read

Thank you to George for a great evening and for also being a superb Postgraduate Executive Officer!


Share this: